Favourite Book Couples

Hi there,
So today dawns another Valentines Day, the day of love. And what better love to share than the love you have of books and the fictional characters that inhabit them. To celebrate that love we all have I’m sharing with you my all time Favourite Book Couples. I saw this idea first done over on Katytastic‘s YouTube channel (she’s one of my favourite YouTubers, you should all check out her channel) and I’ve been wanting to do it myself for some time now. I have actually done a shorter version of this for my Top Five Friday’s series, but now you get the full version. So without further ado let’s jump into the incredibly cute pool of couples.

Anna and the French Kiss trilogy by Rainbow Rowell- all the couples

Okay so I’m already kind of cheating but oh well. I love every one of the main couples in the Anna trilogy. Anna/Etienne probably rank number 1 but Josh/Isla are such a close second. There is basically a cell-sized gap between them. Seriously, it’s close. Cricket/Lola are my least favourite, only because there relationship didn’t have as much of a build up to me. All of these couples are amazing and special and will always be the reason I have such high expectations as to what my relationships must be like. So to all my future suitors: I blame Rainbow Rowell.

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer – all the couples (that I know of)
Again with this series I love every main pairing. For the books I’ve read at least. I’ve yet to read Winter, but when I get to it I’m sure I’ll love whatever pairing happens. But for the three I have read, I loved them. Wolf/Scarlet and Cress/Thorne are my two favourite pairings with Cinder/Kai a little behind because of all the drama surrounding their relationship. The pairings are adorable and each couple is so well suited to each other. The way the novels are written makes the connection to their relationship that much more personal. The intimacy each couple has is just amazing. I really hope none of them die.

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare – Sizzy
Now this one was tough. It was between Sizzy and Malec, but ultimately I felt Sizzy had a stronger connection and a lighter, more relatable romantic story. There relationship was cute, while funner at the same time. They seemed to be complete opposites but fit so well together. And then City of Heavenly Fire happened and my heart was ripped into a thousand tiny pieces. Oh well, at least we’ve got more books on the way.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – Karou/Akiva
This, as literally everyone knows, is one of my favourite trilogies of all time. Part of what makes it so is the characters and the relationships that have with each other. Karou and Akiva had probably the most complicated relationship I have ever read about. There was murder and past-lovers and war, but despite facing literally every problem a couple could have, they ended up together. And man it was emotional, and beautiful and everything you could want in a couple finally being together.

Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan – Percabeth
I’m only referencing the Heroes of Olympus series here because that is when I fell head-over-heels in love with Percabeth. Their relationship is so beautiful and so special and I love reading scenes with them together. They completely steal the show as far as couples go. They care about each other so strongly and they had such an amazing build up with their relationship. We all thought Rachel Elizabeth Dare was a threat for a little while, but that soon vanished from all our minds at the strength of the relationship of Percy and Annabeth.

Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas – Chaolaena
Now, for some reason this pairing isn’t very popular. This genuinely confuses me because they are an amazing couple! I don’t understand and I never will understand peoples’ infatuation with Dorian/Celaena. They just don’t go together! They had a slight thing for a little while but that was it. Now I don’t know what happens in Queen of Shadows but I highly doubt my opinion on this subject matter will change. Celaena and Chaol understand each other in such a unique way. They have to be endgame or I might die. Literally.

 

Outlander by Dianna Gabaldon – Jamie/Claire
Did anyone really think this wouldn’t make the list? Jamie, while the love of my life and definite future husband, is really amazing in his relationship with Claire. They have such a special connection to one another, and the moments of romance in the novels leave nothing to be desired. They have their challenges like any other couple, which I think makes them that much more relatable as a couple. I absolutely love this pairing and I will defend it to the grave.

Alright so that is it for my Valentines themed, favourite fictional couples tag. Feel free to comment down below your favourite couples but please, please, please don’t spoil anything (particularly from the books I specifically said I haven’t read yet in the series’ mentioned). I hope you enjoyed and I’ll see you all soon.

Signing off, Verity

 

 

Leave a Reply

