2015

Hi there,
So as 2015 comes to close we reflect on experiences had, both good and bad. Similarly I reflect on books I read, both good and bad, but specifically today I’ll be discussing my favourite books of 2015. These are books that weren’t neccessarily released in 2015 but that I read in 2015 so if you don’t see a book on here I probably read it a previous year. These books are in no particular order. Alright, without further ado, let’s jump in!

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
Okay I literally just finished this but I already know it’s a favourite. The plot was exciting and the world was immensely interesting, so much so I may have to buy Hollow City immediately. Despite the awesome plot I feel like the characters really make this story happen, it is them that keep the excitement alive, each one as unique as the last.

Crown of Midnight/Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
These are the second and third books in the Throne of Glass series, a series I am falling head over heals in love with. This series is action packed from the get-go, the characters are kick-ass and the storyline sucks you in. I recommend this to literally everyone, I think you will all get something out of, whether it be from the plot or the characters. I cannot wait to continue with this series in 2016 and see where it goes.

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
This is the fifth book by Rainbow Rowell and it’s a sort of spin-off to Fangirl. And it. was. amazing! I seriously could not get enough, I read it in one sitting it was that good. The characters are what make this story and this world come alive, they are unique and interesting (Baz was my personal favourite) and they pull you deeper into the world. The spells were a fun addition to the novel, being based off of common sayings like come out, come out, wherever you are. I recommend this to everyone too and, although you don’t have to, I recommend reading Fangirl first.

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
I actually only read the first three in this series this year (I’ll pick up Winter soon) but it had to make my favourites list because these books are incredible. From beginning to end the excitement is there and the love for the series only grows as new characters are introduced. You’ll think Cinder is the best ever and then you’ll read Scarlet. You’ll think Scarlet is the best ever but just wait until Cress, because it all hits the fan then! The characters are super awesome and the pairings (particularly Wolf/Scarlet and Cress/Thorne) are adorable and actually add an exciting element to the plot.

World After/End of Days by Susanne Ee
These are the second and third books in the Angelfall trilogy, a trilogy that I completely fell in love with. First of all Penryn and Raffe are the most adorable couple to ever exist! Second of all, the plot is super exciting; third, the villains are some of the most interesting I’ve ever read about. This trilogy was supposed to be six books and honestly, I would’ve loved that. But in the end the three books did their job: they entertained me. I fell into this world with high expectations that were met at every turn. This was a series that cannot be easily put down or forgotten about.

I’ll Give you the Sun by Jandy Nelson
I feel like I don’t talk about this book as much it deserves. This book is so moving and so emotional and it scores high on every level a book should. The thing I loved most is that it’s a contemporary stand-alone but it’s about so many different relationships, not just the romantic kind. There’s, mother and son, mother and daughter, father and son, siblings! It’s about growing up and living life and sad times and happy ones and I cried so much through this book because it moved me to such an extent. You all should pick up this book, I promise it is worth it.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor
I think we all knew this would be on the list! I read this trilogy early on the year and it surprised and excited me from the first book! First books in high fantasy series don’t often do that for me. The characters were amazing! Karou and Akiva are some of my favourite fictional characters of all time, and one of my favourite pairings of all time. The supporting characters (particularly Zuzanna and Mik) are some of the best I’ve ever read about. This series will forever have a special place in my heart.

The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancy
This book blew me away! It’s a sensational read, with sensational characters. The history of the waves was so interesting and so detailed that I never craved more. With the exception of the second wave of course. Cassie was my favourite to read from but in terms of learning about the world, Zombie gave a better idea. The Others are the most intersting villains I’ve ever come across. The only negative is that Nugget seriously annoyed me.

Legend trilogy by Marie Lu
This trilogy had one of the saddest endings I’ve ever read in my entire reading life. But it still makes the list. The characters were exciting and interesting and the storyline was really creative. Seeing the same war from different sides of the fight was the best thing about this series. It showed that the villain is always different when shown from different perspectives, something us readers often overlook. It was an amazing series that deserves so much recognition.

Outlander/Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon
I think we all knew this was coming. I mean, let’s be real for a second, I pick Jamie for every  answer in a book tag ever and I mention this book in basically every single post. Outlander is one of the most creative historical books I’ve ever come across; it has one of the best plots and some of the best characters ever. I felt so connected to the story and never wanted to leave the characters behind (still don’t to be honest). An absolutely amazing series that deserves every inch of attention it can get.

Alright so they are my favourite books of 2015. I hope 2015 was a successful year for you all, both in reading and your everyday lives. Always remember that no matter the challenges you face, you can overcome them; a new year is always waiting. So here’s to an amazing 2016, to a year of adventures and fun and good times, to a year of truly finding yourself. Happy New Year to you all, I hope you realize everything you want to achieve.

Signing off, Verity

Leave a Reply

