November Wrap-Up

Hi there,
So this is a little late because it’s the second of December but oh well. Today will be me sharing the books I read in November (it’s an appalling amount) and I know I usually pair this with a December TBR but I have no ideas at all about what I’m going to read. Alright so, without further ado, lets get started.

November Wrap-up

1) Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
This is the third book in the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas and it was amazing! The characters were incredible and the story was so fun and fast and exciting. I have absolutely no idea what to expect of the story but I am seriously scared for quite a few characters (Dorian). It was an amazing book in an amazing series and I highly, highly recommend it to all of you.
Rating: * * * * *

2) The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand
This is a stand-alone that centres around Lex, a girl whose brother killed himself, making it difficult for her to move on. Lex has kept a text that her brother sent on that night secret, a text that could’ve changed everything. This was a book that I expected a lot more from. It gave good insight into the experience of a family after a tragedy such as that but characters were underdeveloped and sub-storylines were bland. This book really effected we though, in a way I didn’t think it would. It made me realize that when people kill themselves they not only lose out on their life, but the lives of those they love. I recommend this to people who love contemporaries but do be wary of the intense subject story.
Rating: * * *

3) The Reader by Bernhard Schlink
This book started off really bizarrely but got really good by the end. It posed so many questions and is a book that really makes you think. It focuses on Hanna and Michael, particularly during Hanna’s trial for charges during the time in which she was a Nazi. It’s incredibly mind-boggling and you just cannot make sound decisions about anything, which I think is possibly the whole point. A thoroughly enjoyable read that really makes you think.
Rating: * * * *

I hope you enjoyed reading the ridiculously slim amount of books I read this month but oh well, maybe this month will be better.

Signing off, Verity

Leave a Reply

