TFF: Favourite movies 2015

Hi there,
So another Friday has rolled around and you all know what that means! It’s just the best day of the week of course, who doesn’t eagerly await another Top Five Friday’s!? Anyway, this weeks topic is my favourite movies of 2015 so far. More are being released towards the closing months of this year (including Mockingjay Part 2 which I’ve yet to see) but because I couldn’t think of anything else, this is what you’ve got. These are in no particularly order because that is seriously way too hard. Just a warning there will be spoilers. Alright let’s just jump right in.

1) Jurassic World
Okay, I was seriously so excited for this film for a long time. And it seriously did not disappoint me. I mean Chris Pratt and dinosaurs for 2 hours, what’s not to love! It was a brilliantly crafted film that didn’t heavily lean on it’s special effects (which were awesome by the way). The one part of this movie I did not like was the ending. And not the T-Rex vs evil dinosaurs part but it was the water dinosaur magically popping out of the water and eating the evil weird mutated dinosaur that was just a little hard to believe. It was still a brilliant film though and I would rate it 5 stars.

2) Inside Out
This was one of the most emotional Disney films I think I’ve ever seen. It was so beautiful and funny and creative and everyone will enjoy it. It also gave an insight, I think, into what it feels like to have a mental illness, the emptiness that you can feel and that absence of joy. I think everyone can feel a real connection to Joy when she’s crying over the faded memories and how she just wanted her to be happy, because we all love people that we just want to be happy. It was a really creative, brilliant film.

3) The Martian
This is one of the more recent releases and it was spectacular. I was a little hesitant because I wasn’t so sure how entertaining it would be to watch someone alone on Mars, but it was so well constructed that I couldn’t help but love it. The supporting characters I would’ve liked to have had a bigger role but the entire film played out brilliantly. Mark Watney was a really interesting character and he made living on Mars, not only frustrating but funny. At times it felt like you were there, on Mars, with no way off. I think the greatest moment was the ending. I was so completely stressed at that point in the film but it was excellently done and I have absolutely no complaints about it. The patriotism felt like a bit much at the beginning of the film but it became to be one of the films most redeeming qualities.

4) Age of Ultron
This is the second film in the Avengers series and I loved it. I fell in love with that characters all over again and even fell in love with the new characters that were introduced. I loved the twins, despite my hesitations about them at the start, but I was really annoyed at the prevalence that the Nat/Bruce relationship took over more important, necessary elements of the film. It was a well-constructed film and I very much enjoyed it.

5) Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
I wasn’t sure how well this book would be translated to film but it was done very well. I didn’t realize how visual everything was until I watched the film and saw all the movies they made, an element that I think made it stronger as a film. The thing I love about this story is the absolute lack of romantic intentions between the Greg and Rachel. It made the story more believable and focused more on the effect of death on friends which I liked. The ending in this film was both beautiful and sad and is one of the top reasons it made my list.

Alright so that is it for my Top Five Friday’s: favourite movie of 2015. feel free to leave your favourite movies of this year down in the comments below.

Signing off, Verity

 

2 thoughts on “TFF: Favourite movies 2015

Leave a Reply

