October Wrap-up/November TBR

Hi there,
So the wonderful month of October is over and we are so close to Christmas! So today (to relax my Christmas spirit) I thought I’d share with you the books I managed to read in October and what I plan to read in November. I read a pretty good number of books in October and hope to read the same in November. So without further ado, lets get started.

October Wrap-up:

1) The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
This was the first book I read in the month of October and it was so good I finished it in less than two days. The characters were so interesting and the plot really excited me. The ending was possibly one of the biggest plot twists I’ve read and I so did not see it coming. Noah was the most amazing guy and Mara, while frustrating, was quirky and cool to read about. I highly recommend this but I would be wary because it deals with some mental illness type scenarios and has murderers and stuff as well.
Rating: * * * * *

2) Cress by Marissa Meyer
Cress is the third book in the Cinder series by Marissa Meyer and I really enjoyed it. I loved Cress, she was such a cool character, and I loved Thorne even more. The lack of Scarlet and the story surrounding her was super annoying but I loved it all the same. I cannot wait for Winter but I’m so scared because I literally have no ideas as to how this will end.
Rating: * * * * *

3) Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone illustrated edition by J.K.Rowling
I re-read this when I got the illustrated version and I am so glad I did. The illustrations added so much more interest to the story and I couldn’t help but feel like a new brand of Harry Potter readers were being born. The illustrations were impossibly beautiful and my favourite of which has to be Harry by the Mirror of Erised. Google it if you want to see it, it is amazing.
Rating: * * * * *

4) Images
This is a book that is, as-of-yet, unpublished and was written by my Dad. It’s a crime novel centering around the protagonist, Jason who, after losing both his wife and daughter, is called to the US to investigate a string of child murders. It was a really well-written book and I really enjoyed the plot. The characters were interesting and I found myself desperate to discover what was coming next. The ending blew my mind and I highly recommend to everyone (once it’s published of course).
Rating: * * * * *

5) Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
This is the final book I read in October and it was so good. I have a booktalk on it (my first in ages) if you want to check that out. It’s a really good book and has a great range of ethnicity’s, cultures and sexuality. It had a Harry Potter meets Percy Jackson vibe and was just a really fun read.
Rating: * * * * *

November TBR

1) Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
This is the third book in the Throne of Glass series and the book that I’m currently reading. This has been on my TBR since about May and I have finally gotten around to it! For the second time! I’m excited to read this because I loved the last book and this should be even better!

2) Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
Yes, this is my Sarah J. Maas month. And yes there is a reason. I want to go to Supanova this year and she’s going to be there and I want my books signed! And I want to be able to talk to her about the entire series and how much I love it. So yes, my SJ Maas month.

3) The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
This is the second book in the Mara Dyer series and after the incredibleness of the first I just have to read this. I got it a little while ago but I had other things to read, but I am really excited to read this.

4) The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancy
This is the second book in The Fifth Wave series and something I’ve had on my shelf for a while. I’m excited to read it in preparation for the last book in the trilogy and for the film which looks amazing! Although the Cassie in the film looks a lot younger than the Ethan so it looks like pedophilia. Anyway, back on track: very excited, 4th book for the month.

Okay so that is it for my October wrap-up and my November TBR, feel free to comment down below the books you read in the previous month and the books your planning on reading in this month.

Signing off, Verity

Leave a Reply

