The Sad Truth about Writing

Ever since I was a little girl I’ve wanted to be a published author, as I’m sure many other bloggers have dreamed. For the past year or so I’ve been attempting to write my first novel and believe me when I say – it sucks. Writing is long and hard and usually pretty boring. Sometimes it’s great but generally you end up hitting a wall or feeling like your characters are 2-D and ordinary. It’s frustrating to read a book and then return to your writing and see that it’s sup-par in comparison. Writing takes a hell-of-a-lot of commitment and time and effort and actual talent. It’s draining sitting at a keyboard hour after hour going God-knows-where and attempting to keep your dream alive; to keep your enthusiasm for it alive. It sucks, trust me.

The thing about me is, I have about a million ginormous dreams and realizing them all is going to be near impossible. But I have to believe I can do it, so I push on. Writing is hard and boring and unbelievably frustrating but it’s also rewarding. The feeling you get when you create something, something amazing out of nothing but your mind; when your characters seem to come alive in front of you cannot be matched. The realization that people might one day pick up your creation and find something magical is a thought you will never forget first having. Creating new worlds, and new people is an incredible feeling.

Yes writing is awful, that’s the sad truth we have to accept, but writing can be great and it can be magical and that’s why we do it; to find the amazing in the ordinary.

Leave a Reply

