The Reader Problems Tag

Hi there,
Today is one of the sunniest day I’ve experienced in a long time, so naturally I’m inside blogging for you guys. Today I bring you another tag post that I saw done over on Shannon’s blog, you should all go check it out because she is amazing. Alright so the tag today is all about problems that we face as readers because, as you probably know, there are quite a few. So lets jump right in.

1) You have 20,000 books on you TBR, how on Earth do you decide what to read next?
I have a few ways of deciding what next to read. It often depends on what I previously read, because if it’s a book that requires mourning I’ll pick up a contemporary. Usually though I just read whatever I’m feeling and if it’s a choice between two I flip a coin.

2) You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it, do you quit or are you committed?
I usually commit and keep going, just because if I stop I’ll either never go back to it or It’ll take me a really long time. I’ve also found with a lot of books that they’re best past the halfway point.

3) The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, yet so far away, from completing your goodreads challenge. Do you try and catch up and how?
No I wouldn’t, I’d just leave it and try the challenge the next year. If I was 5 books or less then probably but other than that no, it doesn’t bother me that much to not complete it.

4) The covers of a series you love. Do. Not. Match. How do you cope?
I have a couple series where the covers do not match and I just deal with it but sometimes when I’m gazing at my shelf in awe (as we all do) I’m disgusted by the sight.

5) Everyone and their mother loves a book you can’t stand? Who do you bond with other shared feelings?
Long story short, I don’t. I usual revel in the fact that I’m different for a little while and then slowly get saddened by the fact they have this common love that I don’t share. But to be honest I find it worse when I love a book everyone else can’t stand.

6) You are reading a book in public and are about to start crying, how do you deal?
Again I don’t. If I’m going to cry in public I’ll just cry. My philosophy is that I’ll never see those people again in my life, they mean nothing to me, so why let it bother me?

7) A sequel of a book you love just came out but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel, what do you do?
I usually youtube a book review for it because booktubers generally give a lot of detail for the plot of the novel. If that doesn’t help I’ll skim read the previous book in the hopes of enlightening myself as to what it’s actually about.

8) You do not want ANYONE borrowing your books, how do you politely tell them know?
I’m actually quite rude when it comes to my books. If you ask to borrow them I will outright tell you no, to your face. Unless of course I’ve lent it to someone before you (on the off chance that I trust them enough) then I’ll lie and say my sister is reading it, but sure after them, and hope they forget about it.

9) You’re in a reading slump, how do you get over it?
I get right into contemporary novels. They are quick, light and generally fun. You want to avoid, at all costs, fantasy or dystopian novels and do not start a new series.

10) There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read, how many do you actually buy?
Usually all of them. . .

11) After you’ve brought the books, how long so they sit on your shelf unread?
It truly depends on the genre of the book, the mood I’m currently in and whether or not it’s a standalone. If it’s a part of a series I try to get to it as soon as possible to avoid all the spoilers but if it’s a contemporary or a stand-alone I can wait a little longer.

Alright so that is it for the reader problems tag. I hope you enjoyed, feel free to comment your answers below and I tag anyone in the mood to do this tag

Signing off, Verity

Leave a Reply

