TFF: Fictional Female Characters

Hi there,
So I’ve decided to start a new segment (is that the right word) on this blog. It’s called top five Fridays, so every Friday I will post my top five something, whatever category I pick for that particular Friday. For this Friday I will pick a slightly easier-to-think-of topic and go with “top five favourite fictional female characters”. Alright lets get started.

1) Hermione Granger, Harry Potter series by J.K.Rowling
Hermione was the first character I really fell in love with, and I think it’s because she reminded me a bit of myself. She’s a little bossy and controlling and has untamed hair (which feels like a curse). She’s a really strong female character and I love her ambition and the importance that education and literature have to her. Hermione will always be on my list of favourite characters.

2) Tris Prior, Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth
Tris is the character that taught me to be brave, and that I posses more than what society seems or deems me to be. She is an amazing character and I owe a lot of my bravery to her, in the way she made me (and probably all readers) feel like they could do anything they put their minds too. Tris was also incredibly caring with a great loyalty to her family and I admire that a lot. She is an amazing character and one that taught me a lot.

3) Karou, Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy by Laini Taylor
This trilogy, as you may already know, is one of my absolute favourites. I completely fell in love with Karou and the moralistic principles she held. Her steadfast loyalty and outrageous sass was both frightening and enjoyable to read. Karou, despite being amazing, is a character that made quiet a few mistakes but learned from them and made up for them. She is an amazing character that I hold a great love for.

4) Celaena Sardothein, Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas
Celaena is one of those characters that you will never ever forget. She is a complete whirlwind of anger, love, sadness and compassion. Her caring nature (and yes I do mean caring) is seen in only the slightest of moments but it’s one of the traits I love and admire the most of Celaena. She is a kick-ass character with supporting characters that only make her better. She taught me a lot about the value of your own opinion and that you can make a difference, even if it’s only a small one.

5) Isabelle Lightwood, The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare
Izzy is one of the funniest yet most kick-ass characters I’ve ever read about. She is an incredible character that is one of the most unique I’ve ever read about. She really stands out compared to other characters in YA fiction, with her 7 inch heels and impossibly long hair proving no challenge for Izzy. She fails at cooking but makes up for it with her sharp come backs. Her love for her family is really admirable and the enjoyable factor of the series was just tripled with Izzy in the mix.

Alright so they are my top five favourite fictional female characters (there were way more and this was a lot harder to choose than I thought). I hope you enjoyed and I’ll see you next Friday.

Signing off, Verity

Posted in: TFF

Leave a Reply

