August Wrap-up/September TBR

Hi there,
So the month of August is officially over. . . and I read three books. Pretty bad right? Oh well there’s always a new month. So this post will be my August wrap-up and my September TBR, which I will keep pretty limited because of my previous record.

August Wrap-up
1) Cinder by Marissa Meyer
The first book I read last month was Cinder, a sci-fi retelling of Cinderella that centers around the city of New Beijing in a new world era during a time of a deadly plague. When Cinder meets Prince Kai she finds herself at the center of the threat of war from Earth’s intergalactic enemies: The Lunars. This book was fun and quirky and I had a really enjoyable time reading it. The characters were so unique and completely adorable and it was the perfect book to start off the month. It wasn’t the most amazing though so it was deducted one star. Still fabulous though.
Rating: * * * *

2) Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee
The second book I read in the month of August was Harper Lee’s “lost” prequel to “To Kill a Mockingbird”. It was a fast read despite the intense subject matter and I really enjoyed it. This was a brilliant book that really encapsulated the confusing prejudice surrouding African-Americans in the early 1900s. Reading from the perspective of an older Scout was interesting and thoughtfully comparative during the chapters that looked back in time to her childhood days. I’m a little disappointed Dill wasn’t a featured character but I enjoyed this all the same
Rating: * * * *

3) Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
Scarlet is the second book in the Lunar Chronicles series and it was amazing! Seriously, if you thought Cinder was good Scarlet just knocked it out of the park! The new characters introduced were really unique and it was interesting to see how the stories all fell together. I enjoyed the greater prevalence of the lunars and the introduction of Thorne was so much fun. Scarlet and Wolf were even more adorable than Cinder and Kai and the ending was so exciting. I cannot wait to see what Cress brings to the table.
Rating: * * * * *

September TBR

1) Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon
This is the second book in the Outlander series and was actually on my TBR for August but as you may know it is a pretty ginormous book. I mean seriously it’s like 900 pages. So this is the first book on my TBR for this month and I am excited to be reading it. Although it’s already annoying me. Really not what I thought it was gonna be.

2) Cress by Marissa Meyer
I have to read Cress this month. I’m mean it’s just a given isn’t it. I’m excited to really get into this and then hopefully be able to get my hands on Fairest to be completely ready for the release of Winter in a few months time. This series is really amazing and I’ve heard that this book is the best yet so I am very excited.

3) Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
Queen of Shadows was released this month but I have not yet read the third book in the Throne of Glass series so I was unable to purchase it and read it. So this month is the month! I will read Heir of Fire and I will love it! And then hopefully I can get right onto Queen of Shadows when I buy that.

4) The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Page
This was on my TBR for last month but I didn’t get around to it so I’ve decided to read it this month. This is the second book in the Dorothy Must Die trilogy (?) which I liked and I’m excited to see how the story develops in this book. This may be changed for Queen of Shadows depending on how much Sarah J. Maas I think I can handle in one month.

Alright so that is it for my August wrap-up and my September TBR. I hope you enjoyed and feel free to comment your own reads for the previous or coming month in the comments (not that you ever do).

Signing off, Verity

Leave a Reply

