April Wrap-up

Hi there,
I sincerely apologise for my absent of late, I have been super duper busy and have also just not been in the mood to be blogging. Today I thought I’d do something relatively easy and just tell you what I read last month. In the month of April I managed to read a great total of 6 books, all of which were amazing. I don’t think I read a single book this month that I didn’t like. Today I’ll be sharing which books I read, I’ll give a brief description and then share my thoughts.

1) Prodigy by Marie Lu
At the beginning of the month I read Prodigy, the second book in the Legend series by the incredible Marie Lu. This series is a Les Miserable re-telling and it was absolutely amazing. It was so fast-paced, really exciting and the characters were kick-ass. I recommend this book to lovers of dystopian novels, it was really fantastic.
Rating: * * * * *

2) Champion by Marie Lu
After finishing Prodigy I went straight on to reading Champion, the final book in the Legend series. This was probably my favourite book in the series. The action was so intense and I loved the characters even more. The ending was incredibly sad and I cried for ages but I really did love this trilogy, it’s one of my favourites.
Rating: * * * * *

3) Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor
Daughter of Smoke and Bone, as you may know, is one of my all-time favourite series and this month I got the final book in the mail and finished the trilogy! It made me smile, it made me cry and I loved every last second of it. This series is high fantasy and it’s based around Karou, a girl who was raised by Chimaera in a world where there are angels. It is intensely high-fantasy so more mature fantasy readers should definitely read this.

4) I’ll Give you the Sun by Jandy Nelson
This is a young adult contemporary novel and it has become one of my favourites. It focuses around twins, Noah and Jude, who, after their mothers death, become distant and changed. This book really moved me in so many ways. The writing style was so poetic and beautiful and the story and characters were so rich and enveloping. I recommend this to everyone, I think everyone can get something out of it.
Rating: * * * * *

5) Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige
This is a modern take on the classic wizard of Oz story. Amy Gumm, a teenager from Earth gets whisked away to Oz by a powerful tornado. She discovers that Dorothy has become evil and must take the scarecrows brain, steal the lions courage, snatch the tin mans heart and then Dorothy Must Die. It was a little too clumped up in the beginning and the story moved far too fast but at about halfway it slowed down and I got really into it. It was pretty fast-paced and it was really easy to read. I enjoyed it and I recommend it to people that like fairy-tale re-telling’s/mash-up things.
Rating: * * * *

6) Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
This story is based around a society that is seperated by blood colours; red or silver. The silver bloods has special abilities so they are the ruling empire. A 17-year old red girl from the stilts has resigned herself to a life at the war front when she discovers she has a deadly ability of her own. This book was amazingly good. The plot was deep and dark and I couldn’t trust anyone yet I trusted everyone! The characters both confused me and drew me in for more. The plot twist at the end blew my mind and I just couldn’t get enough. I recommend this to lovers of dystopian novels who want a little something more than just ordinary people.
Rating: * * * *

And that is what I read in the month of April. I shan’t be doing a May TBR because as you can tell I didn’t really read any of the books in my April TBR because situations change and other books present themselves. I hope you enjoyed this and again I’m sorry for not posting for a while.

Signing off, Charlie

Leave a Reply

