Book Courtship Tag

Hi there,
So I just finished Dreams of Gods and Monsters, the final book in Laini Taylor’s amazing trilogy. There will be a booktalk coming to you for that one but for now I thought I’d do the book courtship tag, originally created by a youtuber by the name of LovelyLikeLaura. Alright so lets jump right in.

Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover?
I’ll have to go with Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell for this one. I had heard some good reviews of it but primarily what attracted me was the gorgeous cover.

Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of the summary?
Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Page. The description on the back is: “Remove the Tin Woodman’s Heart, Steal the Scarecrow’s Brain, Take the Lion’s Courage and then Dorothy Must Die”. I mean how amazing is that!

Phase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing?
The Storyteller by Jodi Piccoult. It is about the Holocaust and the lasting effects it had on decedents after and it was just written beautifully. The sections written from the perspective of someone in the Concentration Camp made me feel like I was really there, I could smell the smoke and feel the hunger. It is one of the most amazingly written books I’ve ever read.

Phase 4 – First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series?
Definitely Divergent by Veronica Roth. It was the best book in the series and it gave me almost a need to read the rest in the series. So I did.

Phase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls: A book that kept you up all night?
The only book that kept me up later than I probably should have been was Allegiant the third and final book in the Divergent trilogy. It was getting so intense and you all know how it ends, so I just had to keep reading.

Phase 6 – Always on my mind: A book you could not stop thinking about?
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. Particularly the first book in the trilogy.  It just blew my mind and I thought about for a long while once I’d finished reading it.

Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book which you love the way it feels?
A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin. I assume you all know what Game of Thrones is and this is the second book in the series. It has a crown on the cover and all the ridges can be felt and it is just amazing!

Phase 8 – Meeting the parents: A book which you would recomend to your family and friends?
Harry Potter by J.K.Rowling, definitely. I think everyone will find something enjoyable in this series, whether it be the magic, the characters or the overall plot. 
Phase 9 – Thinking about the future: A book or series you know you will re read many times in the future?
I know I’ll pick up Harry Potter again at some point in my life. I’ll also probably end up re-reading Daughter of Smoke and Bone, The Fault in Our Stars and The Mortal Instruments. All are books that I fell in love with the story line and had a really deep connection to the characters involved. 
Phase 10 – Share the love: Who do you tag?
For this I tag:
FangirlsForTheWin
BeccaandBooks

Thanks for reading I hope you enjoyed it and I’ll see you soon for my booktalk.

Signing Off, Charlie

Leave a Reply

