Booktalk with Charlie – Blood of Olympus

Hi there,
So on Tuesday the fifth and final book in the Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan was released. I got it on Wednesday and finished it on Friday. I loved it so much and I am so upset that the story is now over. This is my booktalk on BoO and like my other booktalks this will split into spoiler and non-spoiler section.

Non-spoiler:
Blood of Olympus is the last book in the Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan and is the sequel series to Percy Jackson and the Olympians. You have to have read the PJO series before you start HoO. I don’t have booktalks for any other the others in these series but I highly recommend them to anyone and everyone. They are suitable for people of all ages really and are one of the best things I have ever read. So if you haven’t read it already, go right now and pick up the series. You will not be sorry.

Spoiler: 
Alright so BoO starts with a Jason chapter which I thought was perfect because the series started with a Jason chapter. The perspectives were done really well and I loved getting to read about Reyna and Nico because we didn’t know that much about Reyna and to be honest not a lot about Nico either. I was disappointed that we didn’t get to read from Percy, Annabeth, Hazel or Frank because that meant we didn’t see anything about their relationships. I thought it was clever though that apart from Reyna and Nico the perspectives are all from those who were in the first book.
Jason’s chapter just jumped right into the action and I loved meeting all the dead guys and learning more about Greek and Roman history. When Jason’s Mum showed up I was so confused and then just felt really bad for him. When he got stabbed I actually thought he was going to die. I thought “this is it. This is the first of many deaths to come”.
Reyna’s first chapter was really interesting as it was the only incite we had had into her life in the whole series. Her chapters got more and more intriguing as the story went on especially when she met up with Hylla and we learned about her father and her destructive past. It made me further understand her story and the reason she and Hylla were as close as they were. I was really upset when the giant came and killed Phoebe and Kenzie. I actually liked them and Phoebe had been in it for so long, she was even in PJO.
I loved when Annabeth and Piper had a section together and they went to steal the heart. Seeing them work together as a team was awesome as we haven’t actually seen that much Annabeth/Piper in the series. Having seen what Annabeth experienced in Tartarus I cannot imagine how much pain she must have been in to feel that fear again in that chapter.
The chapters were Leo and co. went to get the physicians curse were so much fun to read! I loved the idiot mode that he set, it was so funny to read. But then I knew he was up to something with the cure especially when he put it into Festus’s head or something. I actually thought he was doing that to revive Festus and thats why he gave Piper a fake cure and kept the real one for himself.
The ending was, of course, the most magnificent part of the book. I loved seeing the God’s and demigods work together to defeat them. It was so funny when Percy was complaining that he woke Gaia just because of a tiny nose bleed.
I hated having to see Octavian again and his death was so horrific I hate just thinking about it for too long. I loved Nico and Will together and I so believe they become a thing. He was so sweet with Nico and it was adorable to see.
At the end when Leo “died” and Hazel and Nico even confirmed it I cried but I still didn’t believe it. I just kept thinking “no. Leo is not dead. He is going to Calypso. He is.”.
I loved all the happy endings and Nico telling Percy about the crush he had on him was the funniest thing. And then Annabeth just high fived Nico. It was such a good part of the book. Percy and Annabeth got their happy ending, so did Piper and Jason, Hazel and Frank and Nico and Will. So that just left Leo.
When he woke up on Festus I was so happy I thought I would cry again. And then he found Calypso and it was the most beautiful ending a book has ever had. I like to think that Leo and Calypso made it back to see his friends and they all lived together, but for now it’s enough that they’re together.
I seriously loved BoO. I think it might be my favourite book in the series. I was just so good and so adorable and Argh! I hope you all loved it as much as I did.

Signing off, Charlie.

Leave a Reply

