Taylor Swift book tag

Hi there,
I’m about a quarter through House of Hades (Ahh so good) so my combined booktalk on the Heroes of Olympus series will be here soon. Today I’m doing another tag asking questions based around Taylor Swift songs. So here we go

1) We are never getting back together: a book or series you were pretty sure you were in love with but then wanted to break up with
Okay for this question I’d have to say The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants series by Ann Brashares. I read the first one a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it. It was fun and fast-paced and overall just a really enjoyable read. But then I read I began to read the second book. I couldn’t even finish it. The characters had changed so much it was like they were completely different people. As soon as I read the second book I really wanted to break up with this series. 

2) Red: pick a book with a red cover
For this I’m going to choose The Casual Vacancy by J.K.Rowling. While the cover does have some yellow on it, it is predominately red. 

3) The best day: pick a book that makes you feel nostalgic
For this I’m going to choose The Faraway Tree series by Enid Blyton. I read this books when I was really young with my parents and they always make me feel nostalgic. 

4) Love Story: pick a book with a forbidden love
Flowers in the Attic series by Virginia Andrews. This book probably has the most forbidden love in the history of forbidden loves. And that’s because one of it’s main themes is incest. Now keep in mind that this book was written way back when so these themes would have been even more shocking. It was an incredible book though and definitely had a forbidden love. 

5) I knew you were trouble: pick a book with a bad character you couldn’t help but love
That would be Anna from Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake. Anna is a ghost with a murderous predisposition but I just couldn’t help but love her. She was so much fun to read about and brought so much flavour to the story. Anna is definitely one bad character I cannot help but love. 

6) Innocent: pick a book that someone ruined the ending of
Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan. Now for those of you who have read MoA you’ll know how terrifyingly frustrating the ending is. It was spoiled because of tumblr and so I spent the whole series up until then dreading the moment it would happen. For some reason it did not make it any less terrifying. I’m just hoping that no one will ruin House of Hades for me because I’m going in totally blind for this book.

7) Everything has changed: pick a book that has a character who goes through extensive character development
Tris from the Divergent series by Veronica Roth. The change we see in her from started out as a scared Abnegation girl to a strong Dauntless warrior is incredible. In three short books she went through so many major changes and it was so amazing to be able to read about. I will always love Tris and I think she definitely changed for the better. 

8) Forever and always: pick your favourite book couple
Okay are you ready for this list: Romione (Ron/Hermione), Percabeth (Percy/Annabeth), Fourtris (Four/Tris), Wessa (Will/Tessa), Clace (Clary/Jace), Sizzy (Simon/Izzy), Augustus/Hazel. Canna (Cas/Anna) and Eleanor/Park

9) You belong with me: most anticipated book release
Well right now Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan. All my series have ended (so sad) so I’m not really waiting on anything but this. The power of my happiness rests in the content of Blood of Olympus. My soul is in your hand Mr Riordan.

10) Come back, be here: pick a book you wouldn’t lend out to anyone for fear of missing it too much
That would be Guess how much I love you. And yes I am talking about the children’s book. This book was a massive part of my childhood and I would never lend it out to anyone not even a young child who wanted to start the adventure for themselves. 

11) Tear drops on my guitar: a book that made you cry a lot
Allegiant by Veronica Roth. No further explanation needed. Just…. Allegiant man. Allegiant

12) Shake it off: a book that you love so much you just shake off the haters
I’m going to come back to Flowers in the Attic by Virginia Andrews for this question. Because of the themes and the very mature content a lot of people hate on this book or it’s readers. It really was an incredible read so I just kind of shake all the bad comments off because I don’t care. It’s an incredible series that anyone (and by that I mean mature readers) should pick up.

Okay that is it for the Taylor Swift book tag. Hope you enjoyed it and I will see you see for my Heroes of Olympus booktalk.

Signing off, Charlie.  

Leave a Reply

