The book cake tag

Hi there, 
Okay so this is going to be the book cake tag where the questions all have a part of a cake as their main heading. So basically they’re just book related questions that happen to have cake in the mix (no pun intended) to make you feel hungry. Okay on that stomach-grumbling note lets get to it. 

1) FLOUR: A book that was really slow to start but picked up as it went along
I would have to say Percy Jackson and the Olympians: Battle of the Labyrinth. I don’t kno5169728w whether it was slow in it’s plot or I just wasn’t in the mood but I really couldn’t get into this book. I started reading it after marathoning it with the others but had to put it down and didn’t start reading it again until a couple of months later. Once I got through it that time I actually loved it and it is now one of my favourite books in the series. So yeah it was Battle of the Labyrinth for me. 

2) MARGARINE: A book that has a really rich and great plot
Okay so, quite obviously, for this question I am going to be obliged to pick Harry Potter. harry-potter7The thought and detail in that series is immense. Every little thing ties in together with the bigger story and spanning over seven books the plot just thickens and thickens. Every time I re-read Harry Potter it is so easy to sink into the world and forget the fact that I am not actually there. I sink it the story just as my knife sinks into margarine (see what I did there). Harry Potter will always be one the most amazing books I’ve read and the incredibly detailed plot will be part of that reason. 

3) EGGS: A book that you thought was going to be bad but turned out to be quite good
Flowers in the Attic by Virginia Andrews. If you’ve seen my last post you’ll know that this series is in my list of top five books that I think everyone should read. At first though when my Mum suggested it too me I wasn’t that keen on the idea. Because it’s a very old book I thoughtDollanganger01_FlowersInTheAttic it would be very boring but I loved it! It is probably one of my favourite series of all time. I really enjoyed it, the storyline was great, the characters were incredible and the underlining themes were handled very well. If you read this series or seen my post you’ll know that this series deals with incest. Instead of handling it in a very grotesque and shameful way it handles it very delicately, like there is more the story than what people see. Flowers in the Attic was really good and I am so glad I decided to see it through and not give up on it.

4) SUGAR: A sugary/sweet book
For this I would have to say Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. It was the first book of he15745753rs I read and I just fell in love with it. The characters were really interesting to read about and I love the storyline about Eleanor’s tragic past and family because that really gave new meaning to the story. I absolutely hated the ending but this book is probably my favourite of Rainbow Rowell’s novels. The romance between Eleanor and Park was so adorable that while I was reading it I could not stop smiling and at one point I actually thought I might have been having a heart attack of joy. Eleanor and Park is definitely one of the sweetest stories I’ve read. 

5) ICING: A book covering every element you enjoy
I would actually have to say The Mortal Instruments series. It had everything I really love cityofheavenlyfirein a book: romance, comedy, magic, funny side characters, kick-ass women and of course Magnus Bane. I loved that it was fantasy-ish and had that magic element as well as the Shadowhunters who are, of course, amazing. I also really like the comedy that’s in it, especially coming from Jace. You don’t see a lot of funny YA novels around that much so it was really refreshing to read. I also love having kick-ass female warriors like Clary and Izzy (who is one of my favourite female characters of all time). They add really interesting elements to the story that co-inside perfectly with the plot. TMI just had everything that I love in a book. 

6) ICING: A book series that you can turn to for a little pick-me-up when you’re feeling down
For this question I’m going to have to answer with Harry Potter again. The Harry Potter harry-potter7books have always been special to me and were actually the series that got me into reading like I do now. It’s one of my favourite series of all time and will always have a special place in my heart. The world is one I can so easily get lost in so when I’m feeling down I can just slip away to Hogwarts and become someone else for a while. Books have always had this affect on me but this series more than anything else. Harry Potter will always be able to pull me out of a miserable time. 

7) A CHERRY ON TOP: Favourite book of the year so far
City of Heavenly fire hands down. TMI is one of my favourite series and the final book ficityofheavenlyfirenally came out this year. It was one of the best in the series and I loved every minute of it. This year has actually been a pretty slow reading year for me because I’m getting loads of homework and not getting that much time to read but I sped through this book so fast. I loved every single second of it and I am so disappointed that it’s finished. This world was one that I loved to live in and COHF was definitely the highlight book of the year. It made me cry so much and ripped my soul into a million pieces but I loved it non-the-less. 

Okay so that is it for the book cake tag. I hope you enjoyed it and had some similar views as me (it’s always nice when that happens). Tell me down in the comments what your answers are and I’ll be sure to reply to them all. I’m reading Landline by Rainbow Rowell at the moment and will be finished soon so keep an eye out for my booktalk.

Signing off, Charlie

Leave a Reply

