5 Books that everyone should read

Hi there, 
Okay so there are a few books/series that are less well known so they get less publicity, but I think everyone should read them. Alright so here are the five:

1) Anna Dressed in Blood duo by Kendare Blake
Okay so this “series” is only two books but it is one of my favourites. It’s about a ghost hunter calledAnna-Dressed-in-Blood-Kendare-Blake Cas who meets a ghost called Anna who tries to hurt everyone but him. If you are looking to get into the horror/thriller genre I highly recommend this book. It was really fast paced and is great to get you out of a book reading slump. It’s also incredibly easy to marathon because there are only two books in the series. The characters are really funny and sweet and to be honest it reminded me of Supernatural a lot (which, if you’ve been paying attention at all, will know is my favourite show). The writing style is really cool and Kendare Blake creates really awesome characters who we actually get to learn quite a bit about. It is a duo I highly recommend. 

2) The Storyteller by Jodi Piccoult
This is a stan15753740d-alone novel about WWII and it is honestly one of the best stand-alone’s I have ever read. It goes through a lot of different characters lives and centres mainly on one woman, Sage, and her grandmother, Minka. During the novel Minka tells her story about war and what it was like in the ghetto and the concentration camp and the descriptions are so intense and the writing so amazing it made me feel like I was there myself. I did a booktalk on this which I will link at the bottom. I highly recommend for anyone and everyone but I suggest you be mature enough to handle it because it can get quite overwhelming stuff like it did really happen. It is one of my favourite stand-alone’s though and I think everyone should read it. 

3) Flowers in the Attic series by Virginia Andrews (also known as V.C.Andrews)
This quartet of books touches on some very controversial issues making it one of the most talked about books of its time and continues to be the subject of much debate to this day. Flowers in the Attic cenDollanganger01_FlowersInTheAttictres around four children who are forced to be locked away in an attic for the sake of the family fortune. I don’t want to tell you too much because it is best to go into it blind but you must be a mature reader. It touches upon issues such as incest, psychological and physical abuse and parental neglect. Make sure that you are ready to deal with these subjects before you begin to read it. It is really amazing though and even though by the third book the quality was dropping a bit, I loved it right to the end. It remains to be one of my favourite series and I highly recommend it for anyone (as long as they are mature readers) and I really think you should all pick it up.

4) Airhead trilogy by Meg Cabot
This is a trilogy that is one of the least known trilogies probably ever. It centres around a girl called Em44644_airhead who has an accident and has to have her brain transplanted into a supermodels body. It was really good and there was actually a big mystery component to the series. It was also pretty funny and really adorable with the interactions with the main love interest. The characters are very interesting in this book which made it even more interesting. Now the cover does look quite baby-ish but I promise you it is a really good book…. They just made a really bad cover colour choice. Everyone should really read it, It is unlike anything else I’ve ever read. I strongly recommend for the readers who love mystery but are also really into cute love stories. 

5) Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Piccoult
I know, I know, there’s already a Jodi Piccoult book on this list. She is just such a fabulous author I had to put two of her books. Now this stand-alone stuck in my mind for so long that every now and thennineteen-minutes_book-review I still intensely think and philosophise about it. Nineteen Minutes is about a young high school student who goes into his school and starts shooting. It is told from a lot of different POV’s but that just makes it even more interesting. We ever get to read the story from the young boys perspective. It follows his court case and the lives of the people entwined in his horrific act. The really amazing thing about this book is that it actually makes you sympathise with the killer, which is something I never thought I would do. It deals with this really horrid issue in quite a realistic way so you should definitely be a very mature reader if you are thinking about picking this up. I highly recommend for anyone though. It was, and remains to be, one of my favourite stand-alone novels.

So they are the five books/series that I think everyone should read. Here’s the link to my storyteller booktalk: https://fandomsontherun.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/booktalk-with-charlie/

Signing off, Charlie 

2 thoughts on “5 Books that everyone should read

Leave a Reply

